Meet our current committee:



Ian Porter: Chair

Ian has broad 40 years of experience in the oil, gas, nuclear and conventional power industries in roles ranging from R&D, project management, business development and over the last 20 years has concentrated on energy technology commercialisation with all of his current activities focused on renewable energy.  He has strong belief and confidence that Australia can play a major role in the future renewables economy and is deeply committed to ensuring that happens.


 steveProfile.jpgSteve Gates: Tech

Steve is a Mechanical Engineer with 29 years experience in Research and Development in the offshore, defence, manufacturing and agricultural industries. He currently consults his services and is passionate about using his engineering and project management background to solve problems, particularly those relating to the environment and sustainability, and provides voluntary services to other community organisations. He has been a registered Professional Engineer in California and is a member of the Institute of Engineers Australia. Steve won WA Volunteer of the Year Award in 2016.



Gilda Davies: Events

Gilda previously developed and was lecturer of the Diploma of Sustainability for almost 5 years. During that time she also provided consultant advice on a large Builders' waste minimisation and recycling project. She graduated from Murdoch University with a Master of Business majoring in Environmental Management in 2003 and was so interested in the science of the environment she went on to study Environmental Science. Gilda has hands-on environmental experience as well as 25 years in business management and international consulting. A long-term focus on grass-roots climate change action has led Gilda to become involved in the work of SEN. Gilda was previously our Events Team Leader and has now taken on the challenging role in Outreach.



Ben Rose: Policy

An energy and emissions and analyst and carbon sequestration assessor for five years, Ben was a founder of Carbon Neutral in WA. He worked for 13 years for the WA Department of Agriculture in natural resource management and for two years as a secondary science teacher. Over the last 15 years he has written several technical publications on sustainable agriculture and carbon sequestration. Since 2013, in the development of the SIREN Toolkit, headed up the Powerbalance Programming and Research and was lead author of the ‘Clean Electricity WA 2030...” study.



Photo to come  Alastair Leith:  Outreach

Alastair is very multi-talented. He has a great knowledge of the technical side of renewable energy and a knack for putting words and images to the story.