

Sustainable Energy Now Inc. PO Box 341 West Perth WA 6872

Date: 7th May 2024 Mr Jai Thomas Deputy Director General – Coordinator of Energy Level 1, 66 St George's Terrace Perth WA 6000

Subject: Western Australia Renewable Energy Transition Survey Headwinds and Barriers Report

We draw your attention to the attached report summarising industry feedback about the headwinds and barriers facing the Western Australia Renewable Energy Transition. It draws from a confidential face-to-face survey covering a representative sample of:

- Renewable energy project proponents;
- Gentailers;
- Industrial gas users decarbonising primarily via electrification.

This report was prepared by one of Sustainable Energy Now's volunteers as an independent consultant and was referenced in the Guardian article "Surge in WA emissions puts Australia's net zero targets in doubt" on the 26th March 2024 and covered in ABC's RN Drive program the same evening.

Whilst this is not a SEN report, SEN supports the report and its recommendations. The report's author can be contacted at <u>Fraser.maywood@gmail.com</u>.

We hope you find the report useful as the State Government develops policies and plans directed at the clean energy transition in WA.

Yours sincerely

Fraser Maywood

Chair, Sustainable Energy Now Inc

Position endorsed by the SEN Committee on 6th May 2024

About SEN

Sustainable Energy Now (www.sen.asn.au) formed in 2006 is e a grass-roots not-for-profit member-based advocacy group promoting renewable energy and decarbonisation. Supported by the best science and our own modelling and simulation, we advocate on how Western Australia can make a swift and orderly transition to clean renewable electricity safely, reliably, and affordably with commercially proven technologies.

Distribution List

Mr Jai Thomas	Deputy Director General – Coordinator of Energy
Mr Sam Barbaro	CEO - Western Power
Mr David Fyfe	CEO - Synergy
Hon. Darren West	Parliamentary Secretary to Energy Minister
Mr Steve Edwell	Chair Economic Regulation Authority
Ms. Kate Ryan	Executive General Manager WA & Strategy - AEMO
Hon. Recce Whitby	Energy Minister
Hon. Roger Cook	Western Australian Premier
Hon. Jessica Shaw	Parliamentary Secretary to Premier
Hon. Chris Bowen	Federal Minister for Climate Change and Energy